Ida and Pingala


Muladhara Chakra

Muladhara (mula = root; hadara = support) is the lowest of the chakras, it's located at the base of the spine, between the anus and the penis. From this chakra four impotrant nadis emanate which appear as lotus petals. the subtle vibrations that are made by each nadi are represented by sanskrit letters.
In the middle of the white circle there is a yellow square, region of Prithvi ,the symbol of Prithvi tattwa (earth element). inside the square, the elefant Airvata (king of elefants, vehicle of Indra, king of the deva) carries on his back the bija (syllable) Lam dic, or bija-dhara (earth-seed). the bija carries on his lap Brahma (creator). above Airvata, near the mouth of Vajra nadi, shines a triangle which sybolise the yoni (uterus) of the Goddess Mother of the universe. The Yoni is called Kama (love) or Kamarupa (form of love) or Traipura (three-side city).
inside the yoni is Svayambhu in his Linga form (divine phallus), in other words the male prime cause of the universe, Shiva. Within the Svayambhu Linga reigns dominant Para, the Sri Paramesvari, the awakener of eternal knowlwdge. She is the omnipotent Kala, wonderfully skillful creator.
Over the Linga the white Kundalini, fine as the fibre of the lotus stalk, lies sleeping, in spiral three and half times round Shiva, and her mouth covers Brahamadwara (door of Brahma) . The circulating energy above that is called Kama-bija (seed of love). Near this Linga is the golden region known as Kula (family). The presiding deity is Dakini. Dakinis are half-divine or devilish beings. they are "evil spirits", attendants of Kali who eat raw meat. The presiding adept is called Dviranda. Ganesha is the devata of this chakra.
corresponding nerve plexus in the physical body sacro-coccygeal plexus
location just below kanda,between the root of genitals and anus. at the base of spinal column
petals, or no. of yoga nadis four
colour of petals blood-red
letters on the petals - or the vibrations of the yoga nadis Vam dic, Sam dic, Sham dic, Ssam dic
mandala, or the region of tattwa, or element bhumandal, or prithvi, or region of earth
yantra, or shape of the mandala square
bija akshara, or seed Lam dic
bija-bearer airavata
presiding god ganesha
brahma four faced
goddess dakini (shakti)
deva or tattwa prithvi
loka bhu
colour of tattwas yellow
function of tattwa, or quality gandha or smell
sense-organ nose
motor-organ anus
granthi sthana brahma granthi
result of concentration health and vidya

The awkening of Kundalini Shakti

The Jivatma in the subtle body, the rececptacle of the five vital airs (pancha pranas), mind in its three aspects of Manas, Buddhi and Ahamkara; the five organs of action (Karmendryas); and the five organs of perception (Jnendryas), are united with Kula-kundalini. The Kama Vayu in the Muladhara is given a leftward revolution and the fire wich is round kundalini is kindled. by the bija Hum dic, and the heat of fire thus kindled, the coiled and sleeping Kundalini is awakened.she who lay asleep, with her mouth closing the mouth of Sushumna (Brahmadwara) will, on being roused, enter that door and move upwards, united with the Jivatma. On this upward movement, Brahma, Savitri, Dakini-shakti, the devas, bija and Vritti, are dissolved in the body of Kundalini. Prithvi is converted into bija Lam dic and is also merged in her body. When Kundalini leaves the Muladhara, the lotus, which on the awakening of kundalini had opened and tuned its flowers upwards, again closes and hangs downwards.

top back next
| Kundalini | Devi | Shiva | Vishnu | Devas | Tantra | Home |

Search this site or the web powered by FreeFind

Site search Web search

taoWorks ©